Category Archives: Personnel News

Awards, arrivals, and promotions

Congratulations to our latest award winners:

Cori Bargmann has won the 2016 Edward M. Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience, an award given by the McGovern Institute for Brain Research at MIT to recognize outstanding advances in the field. She is being honored for her work on the genetic and neural mechanisms that control behavior in roundworms. The prize will be formally presented on March 30 in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Dr. Bargmann is Torsten N. Wiesel Professor and head of the Lulu and Anthony Wang Laboratory of Neural Circuits and Behavior.

Barry Coller has received the 2016 Gill Award, a prize given by the University of Kentucky Gill Heart Institute for lifelong achievements in the study of cardiovascular biology and disease. He will be presented with the award at the 19th Annual Gill Heart Institute Cardiovascular Research Day on November 4 at the University of Kentucky. Dr. Coller is vice president for medical affairs and physician-in-chief of The Rockefeller University Hospital, and David Rockefeller Professor and head of theAllen and Frances Adler Laboratory of Blood and Vascular Biology.

Alex Gitlin, an M.D.-Ph.D. student who performed his thesis research in Michel Nussenzweig’s Laboratory of Molecular Immunology, and Wenyan Jiang, a graduate fellow in Luciano Marraffini’s Laboratory of Bacteriology, are two of this year’s recipients of the Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award. The award, one of the most prestigious in the biosciences, is given by the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and recognizes outstanding achievement during graduate studies in the biological sciences. Gitlin and Jiang are the 10th and 11th Rockefeller students to win the Weintraub Award.

Shixin Liu has received an Irma T. Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Trust Research Award, which is given to support biomedical scientists who exhibit an exceptional potential for high quality productive research. Dr. Liu is assistant professor and head of the Laboratory of Nanoscale Biophysics and Biochemistry.

The Rockefeller community welcomes its latest hires:

Christine Bartek, Office Administrator, Investments
Edmondo Campisi, Postdoctoral Associate, Fischetti Laboratory
Alora Canty, Office Administrator & Financial Analyst, Finance Office
Jarileen Celadilla, Teacher, Child and Family Center
David DiLillo, Visiting Scientist, Ravetch Laboratory
Natalia Echeverria, Visiting Student, Rice Laboratory
Daxing Gao, Postdoctoral Associate, Casanova Laboratory
Libby Goss, Copy Editor, Rockefeller University Press
David Hum, Research Assistant, Gleeson Laboratory
Xiangwu Ju, Postdoctoral Associate, Liu Laboratory
Seonghwan Kim, Postdoctoral Associate, Brady Laboratory
Sai Li, Postdoctoral Associate, Liu Laboratory
James Peek, Postdoctoral Associate, Brady Laboratory
Jackson Rogow, Research Assistant, Ruta Laboratory
Emily Salcedo, Teacher, Child and Family Center
Teresa Sprenger, Foreign Research Intern, Tuschl Laboratory
Thomas Topilko, Foreign Research Intern, Tessier-Lavigne Laboratory
Russell Weg, Visiting Fellow, Rice Laboratory
Hongtu Zhao, Postdoctoral Associate, Chen Laboratory

The following researcher has been promoted:

Luciano Marraffini, to Associate Professor Head of Laboratory, Marraffini Laboratory



C. David Allis, the Jonathan Kraft Prize for Excellence in Cancer Research, presented by the Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center. The newly established award celebrates achievements in cancer research and includes a monetary prize of $20,000, endowed by Robert Kraft, owner of the New England Patriots, in honor of his son. The award was presented to Dr. Allis on April 3. Dr. Allis is Joy and Jack Fishman Professor and head of the Laboratory of Chromatin Biology and Epigenetics.



Mary Ellen Conley, the AAI-Steinman Award from the American Association of Immunologists. The award, named for the late Ralph M. Steinman, head of Rockefeller’s Laboratory of Cellular Physiology and Immunology, recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the understanding of immune processes underlying human disease pathogenesis, prevention or therapy. The award will be presented May 10 at the association’s annual meeting in New Orleans. Dr. Conley is a member of Jean-Laurent Casanova’s St. Giles Laboratory of Human Genetics of Infectious Diseases.