Category Archives: Convocation

Honorary degrees awarded to Gurdon, Robertson and Yamanaka | Convocation

In addition to 23 students, three seasoned contributors to basic science — two Nobel Prize winners and a philanthropist — received degrees from Rockefeller this year. In a tradition dating back more than five decades, the university awarded honorary doctorate of science degrees to distinguished individuals who have made notable contributions in their fields.

Fabio Casadio | Convocation

Fabio CasadioPresented by C. David Allis
B.S., M.S., University of Bologna
Discovery and Characterization of Methylation of Arginine 42 on Histone H3: A Novel Histone Modification with Positive Transcriptional Effects

Amy Grunbeck | Convocation

Amy GrunbeckPresented by Thomas P. Sakmar
B.S., Dickinson College
Application of Genetically-encoded Photoactivatable Crosslinkers to Map Ligand-binding Sites on G Protein Coupled Receptors

Suchit H. Patel | Convocation

Suchit H. PatelPresented by Sidney Strickland of behalf of A. James Hudspeth
B.S., New York Institute of Technology
Frequency Selectivity of Synaptic Exocytosis in Hair Cells of the Bullfrog’s Amphibian Papilla

Sarah Van Driesche

Sarah Van DrieschePresented by Robert B. Darnell on behalf of himself and Jennifer C. Darnell
B.A., Wellesley College
Mechanism of Translational Control by the Fragile X Mental Retardation Protein and Creation of the FMRP cTAG Mouse

Convocation 2009 | Convocation

Convocation 2009
2009 is a landmark year for science. The 200th anniversary of the birth of Charles Darwin, father of evolutionary biology, and the 150th anniversary of the publication of his classic text On the Origin of Species, this year is being marked with tributes across the world. It is also a milestone year for The Rockefeller University, which on June 11 celebrated the largest graduating class in its history. More

Convocation 2009 | Convocation

Following tradition, faculty mentors gave congratulatory tributes to this year’s graduates. Printed here are the transcripts of those speeches, as they were read on June 11. Three members of the class of 2009 — Taulant Bacaj, Sarah Garrett Injac and Satoshi Yoshimura — were unable to attend the festivities. Students in the Tri-Institutional M.D.-Ph.D. Program are marked with an asterisk.

Sourabh Banerjee | Convocation

Sourabh Banerjee

B.Sc., St. Stephen’s College, University of Delhi
M.Sc., Indian Institute of Technology
Studies of G Protein Coupled Receptors Incorporated into a Novel, Nanoscale,
Membrane-mimetic System

presented by Thomas P. Sakmar


Stefano Di Talia | Convocation

Stefano Di Talia

Laurea, University of Naples Federico II
Cell Size Control and Asymmetric Cell Fates in Start of the Saccharomyces cerevisiae Cell Cycle
presented by Frederick R. Cross (on behalf of himself and Eric D.  Siggia)


Melissa Noel | Convocation

Melissa Noel

B.S., University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras
Novel Roles for the Tissue
Plasminogen Activator System in the Development of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and the Regulation of Contextual Learning after Stress

presented by Sidney Strickland


Valentin Piëch | Convocation

Valentin Piëch

M.Sc., Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zürich
Perceptual Learning, Long-range Horizontal Connections and Top-Down Influences in Primary Visual Cortex
presented by George N. Reeke Jr. (on behalf of himself and Charles D. Gilbert)


Convocation 2008 | Convocation

cover_photo_linkedWhen The Rockefeller University held its first Convocation in 1959, there were only five graduates. As of June 12, nearly 1,000 scientists are recipients of the Rockefeller University doctor of philosophy degree.

This year’s festivities began with a graduate luncheon, followed by a cap-and-gown procession across campus to the degree-granting ceremony in Caspary Auditorium, a graduate reception on Peggy Rockefeller Plaza and an alumni reunion reception in Weiss Café.

The class of 2008 is the fourth in the David Rockefeller Graduate Program (named in 2005). It includes 13 men and 13 women from eight countries: Canada, China, England, Germany, India, Japan, Taiwan and the United States. Twenty Rockefeller labs were represented by the graduates and nine of them, members of the Tri-Institutional M.D.-Ph.D. Program, will continue on to medical school. Others will begin careers in academia, industry or other fields.

This annual Convocation issue of BenchMarks salutes the Rockefeller University class of 2008.

Honorary degrees go to three Rockefeller alumni | Convocation

Fedoroff, Hille and Edelman are honored with the university’s highest accolade


Edelman Fedoroff_HilleAlongside the 26 students who marched in cap and gown to receive their diplomas and graduate hoods on June 12, three Rockefeller alumni returned to the stage where years ago they defended their own dissertations. At this year’s Convocation ceremony, honorary doctor of science degrees were presented to plant geneticist and government science adviser Nina V. Fedoroff, class of 1972; ion channel pioneer Bertil Hille, class of 1967; and Nobel laureate Gerald M. Edelman, class of 1960.