Awards, arrivals, and promotions

Congratulations to our latest award winners:

Sebastian Klinge has been honored with an NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. The award, which is given as a five-year grant of up to $1.5 million, is designed to encourage researchers to pursue projects that have the potential for unusually high impact. Dr. Klinge, who is one of 48 recipients of the prestigious award this year, is assistant professor and head of the Laboratory of Protein and Nucleic Acid Chemistry.

Daniel Kronauer, Luciano Marraffini, Agata Smogorzewska, and Sohail Tavazoie are among 84 researchers nationwide named as the first Howard Hughes Medical Institute Faculty Scholars. The new Faculty Scholars program, established by the HHMI, the Simons Foundation, and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, supports early-career scientists who have the potential to make unique contributions to their fields. Each five-year grant ranges from $600,000 to $1.8 million.

Monica Mugnier, a 2016 graduate of Rockefeller’s Ph.D. program, is one of 16 junior scientists across the country to win an NIH Director’s Early Independence Award. The award, which is given as a five-year grant of up to $1.25 million, allows exceptional investigators to skip postdoctoral training and move immediately into independent research positions. Dr. Mugnier, who will establish a lab at Johns Hopkins University, was a member of F. Nina Papavasiliou’s Laboratory of Lymphocyte Biology.

Shruti Naik is one of five recipients of the 2016 For Women in Science Fellowship. Given by L’Oréal USA, the annual fellowship program honors postdoctoral women scientists for their contributions in STEM fields and their commitment to serving as role models for younger generations. Dr. Naik, a member of Elaine Fuchs’s Robin Chemers Neustein Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development, will receive $60,000 to advance her postdoctoral research.

The Rockefeller community welcomes its latest hires:

Angelina Bilate, Research Associate, Mucida Laboratory
Barbara Bosch, Visiting Student, Casanova Laboratory
Ann Campbell, Adult Nurse Practitioner, Occupational Health Services
Alda Maria Cardoso, Visiting Professor, Ott Laboratory
Katherine Doerig, Research Assistant, Friedman Laboratory
Michelle Doughty, Animal Technician, Smogorzewska Laboratory
Anna Erzberger, Postdoctoral Associate, Hudspeth Laboratory
Ellen Eylers, Clinical Research Coordinator, Hospital Program Direction
Kathleen Farrell, Development Assistant, Development
Eduardo Garcia Reino, Visiting Student, Casanova Laboratory
Maria Garcia-Fernandez, Visiting Fellow, Steller Laboratory
Vishnu Ghani, Research Assistant, Kapoor Laboratory
Kristie Gordon, Research Specialist, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Yusong Guo, Postdoctoral Associate, MacKinnon Laboratory
Xiujing He, Visiting Student, Chua Laboratory
Rachel Keever, Teacher, Child and Family Center
Katarzyna Krol, Visiting Fellow, Smogorzewska Laboratory
Qiang Li, Postdoctoral Associate, Hang Laboratory
James Mignone, Campus Security Officer, Security
Charlie Mo, Postdoctoral Associate, Marraffini Laboratory
Kevin Purce, Research Assistant, Kronauer Laboratory
Natalie Rasgon, Visiting Professor, McEwen Laboratory
Amelia Ritger, Research Assistant, Kronauer Laboratory
Arven Saunders, Postdoctoral Associate, Brivanlou Laboratory
Arien Schiepers, Foreign Research Intern, Victora Laboratory
Samer Shalaby, Postdoctoral Associate, Smogorzewska Laboratory
Qian Sun, Postdoctoral Associate, Kronauer Laboratory
Yoko Tajima, Research Assistant, Darnell Laboratory
Ana-Maria Tanasescu, Research Assistant, Chen Laboratory
Ashley Wang, Research Assistant, Kapoor Laboratory