Awards, arrivals, and promotions

Congratulations to our latest award winners:

Luciano Marraffini has been awarded the Hans Sigrist Prize for his work applying CRISPR-Cas systems to antibiotic resistance. Bestowed by the University of Bern and the Hans Sigrist Foundation, the award recognizes mid-career academics and researchers with the intent of spurring further work from them. He formally received the award December 5. Dr. Marraffini is an assistant professor and head of the Laboratory of Bacteriology.

Charles Rice has received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases. The award honors scientists who have made sustained contributions to the field of liver disease and the scientific foundations of hepatology. Dr. Rice is Maurice R. and Corinne P. Greenberg Professor in Virology and head of the Laboratory of Virology and Infectious Disease.

Johannes Scheid has been named a runner up in the Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists in the category of translational medicine. The prize recognizes promising early-career scientists from around the world who conduct groundbreaking life-science research. Dr. Scheid is an adjunct faculty member in Michel Nusszenweig’s Laboratory of Molecular Immunology and a former clinical scholar.

The Rockefeller community welcomes its latest hires:

Jason Banfelder, Director, HPC Systems and Applications, Information Technology
Kivanc Birsoy, Assistant Professor Head of Laboratory, Birsoy Laboratory
Deanna Cho, Research Assistant, Tarakhovsky Laboratory
Dmitry Faybishenko, Watch Engineer, Plant Operations Power House
Maximilian Friedrich, Visiting Student, Freiwald Laboratory
Szilvia Galgoczi, Research Assistant, Brivanlou Laboratory
Jill Horowitz, Director of Clinical Operations for the Vaccine Center, Nussenzweig
Caroline Jiang, Biostatistician, Hospital Biostatistics
Yuxuan Miao, Postdoctoral Associate, Fuchs Laboratory
Christopher Sanchez, Mailroom Clerk, Mail Room
Max Seppo, Research Assistant, Ruta Laboratory
Ondrej Slaby, Visiting Professor, Fischetti Laboratory
Ole Sogaard, Visiting Associate Professor, Nussenzweig Laboratory
Lewis Tomalin, Postdoctoral Associate, Krueger Laboratory
Bastiaan van den Berg, Foreign Research Intern, Brivanlou Laboratory
Bram van Vugt, Postdoctoral Associate, Freiwald Laboratory

Finally, we congratulate Orna Levran of the Kreek Laboratory on her promotion to Research Associate Professor.