Current Issue: April 1, 2011


Convocation is June 16Twenty-three students will receive Ph.D.s at this year’s Convocation. In addition, honorary degrees will be awarded to Richard Axel of Columbia University and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and Linda Buck of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. The schedule of events is as follows: 2:30 p.m. Academic Processional from Weiss Lobby to Caspary Auditorium. All are welcome to gather along the route. 3 p.m. Convocation, Caspary Auditorium. Tickets are required. 5 p.m. Reception, Peggy Rockefeller Plaza. All are welcome.

Town hall meeting kicks off strategic planning process

Making rounds. Over the next several weeks, Dr. Tessier-Lavigne will meet with all faculty members, as well as the staffs of every department, in order to familiarize himself with the university’s operations and understand their issues and needs. His first stop was to meet with Collaborative Bioscience Center staff on March 23.At Marc Tessier-Lavigne’s first town hall meeting, the new president discussed his thoughts on the university’s strengths and weaknesses, as well as its place in science and in history. Dr. Tessier-Lavigne outlined his initial priorities, particularly concerning faculty recruitment, and sketched out the process by which he will develop a strategic plan. Printed here is a condensed version of Dr. Tessier-Lavigne’s remarks in several important areas that will provide a framework for discussion as the process moves forward.



Titia de Lange, the 2011 Vilcek Prize in Biomedical Science. The $100,000 prize recognizes her body of research on mechanisms that help maintain genome stability, in particular on telomeres, the elements that protect chromosome ends from unnecessary repair and mediate their replication. This work has led to a greater understanding of how telomeres protect chromosome ends, and what happens when telomere function is lost during the early stages of tumorigenesis. Dr. de Lange is Leon Hess Professor and head of the Laboratory of Cell Biology and Genetics. She will receive the prize at the Vilcek Foundation’s annual awards presentation dinner in New York City in April.