Current Issue: October 15, 2010

Marc Tessier-Lavigne named president

tessierFollowing a five-month search in which nearly 80 candidates were considered, the university’s Board of Trustees voted on September 8 to name Marc Tessier-Lavigne, a leader in the study of brain development, president. Dr. Tessier-Lavigne, who is currently executive vice president for research and chief scientific officer at Genentech, will succeed Paul Nurse on March 1, 2011.

A successful presidential search

A few weeks ago, I announced that Marc Tessier-Lavigne had been selected to become the tenth president of The Rockefeller University. Marc is an outstanding scientist and an experienced and thoughtful leader and I was personally delighted when he accepted our offer to serve as Rockefeller’s president. I’m writing here to publicly reiterate my appreciation to the members of the search committee and to all members of the community who offered us their suggestions for helping us achieve this very successful outcome.

Welch Hall renovation to begin in January

The renovation of Welch Hall, which has housed the university’s library since its construction in 1929 and once served as its main dining facility, will begin in January, president Paul Nurse announced last week. The plan to modernize Welch, which has been under development for several years but was suspended after the university’s finances unexpectedly worsened in 2008, was formally approved by the Board of Trustees’ Finance and Operations Committee on October 6.

Jeff Friedman receives Lasker Award for discovery of leptin

2007_DSC_5502approved_cJeffrey M. Friedman, who first came to Rockefeller as a postdoc in 1980 and has been head of laboratory since 1991, is one of two recipients of this year’s Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research, considered the most prestigious American prize in science. The Lasker award recognized him for his “discovery of leptin, a hormone that regulates appetite and body weight, a breakthrough that opened obesity research to molecular exploration.” He is the 21st Lasker recipient associated with the university.