Jesse H. Ausubel, an honorary doctoral degree from Dalhousie University in Canada. Mr. Ausubel, who is senior research associate and director of the Program for the Human Environment, will be presented with the degree at a ceremony on May 20.

Cori Bargmann, the 2009 Richard Lounsbery Award from the National Academy of Sciences, for her inventive and successful use of molecular and classical genetics to probe the individual nerve cell basis of behavior in Caenorhabditis elegans. Dr. Bargmann, who is Torsten N. Wiesel Professor, head of the Laboratory of Neural Circuits and Behavior and associate director of the Shelby White and Leon Levy Center for Mind, Brain and Behavior, studies how C. elegans’s neural circuits develop, identifies the genes and neural pathways for its actions and investigates how sensory inputs regulate those circuits. The Lounsbery Award, established in 1979 to encourage reciprocal scientific exchanges between the United States and France, comes with a $50,000 prize.


Knut Wittkowski, president-elect of the Association of General Clinical Research Centers (GCRC) and Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Statisticians. The association, whose name is currently in transition, exists to enhance the design, implementation and analysis of clinical and translational studies, to foster the establishment of appropriate methodological standards and to advise the GCRC and CTSA programs. Dr. Wittkowski’s two-year presidency, which begins this August, will involve liaising with the National Institutes of Health and organizing the agenda for the association’s annual meeting. Dr. Wittkowski is director of the Center for Clinical and Translational Science’s Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Research Design Core.


“Learning Science in Informal Environments: People, Places and Pursuits,” a report from the National Research Council reviewed by Director of Scientific Outreach Bonnie Kaiser. The report details evidence of the effectiveness of informal educational experiences — e.g., trips to museums and zoos, television and other media programs, civic engagement projects — at promoting long-term interest in science among students. The report, released in January, is available from the National Academies Press at

Promoted (academic appointments):

Myriam Heiman, to senior research associate, Greengard Lab.

Jeong Hyeon Park, to research associate, Roeder Lab.

Yan Zhou, to research associate professor, Kreek Lab.


Sourabh Banerjee, postdoctoral associate, Sakmar Lab.

Bertrand Boisson, postdoctoral associate, Casanova Lab.

Jack Brown, security guard, Security.

Paula Calle, research assistant, Brady Lab.

Sophia Chai, research specialist, Fuchs Lab.

Francis Corson, postdoctoral associate, Siggia Lab.

Melissa Del Giorno, teacher, Child and Family Center.

Qian Feng, foreign research intern, Rice Lab.

Stephanie Fernandez, postdoctoral associate, Strickland Lab.

Winrich Freiwald, assistant professor and head of laboratory, Freiwald Lab.

Shawn Galdeen, research support specialist, Bio-Imaging Resource Center.

Rebecca Garcia, administrative assistant, Gadsby Lab.

Matthew Hill, postdoctoral fellow, McEwen Lab.

Natsuko Kinoshita, postdoctoral fellow, Chua Lab.

Erin Kirk, research assistant, Casanova Lab.

Tatiana Kochetkov, research specialist, Casanova Lab.

Wladimir Labeikovsky, postdoctoral associate, Gadsby Lab.

Collene Lawhorn, postdoctoral fellow, Kreek Lab.

Yoav Litvin, postdoctoral associate, Pfaff Lab.

Pei-ju Lu, postdoctoral associate, Fuchs Lab.

Chen Luxenburg, postdoctoral fellow, Fuchs Lab.

Cameron MacPherson, visiting student, Chua Lab.

Alice Min, research assistant, Greengard Lab.

Shamim Mollah, bioinformaticist, Hospital Medical Science.

Emily Muller, development assistant, Development.

Kyung-Min Noh, postdoctoral associate, Allis Lab.

Suzanne Ouyang, recruitment assistant, Hospital Medical Science.

Irena Parvanova, research assistant, Hatten Lab.

Kresti Pecani, research assistant, Fred Cross Lab.

Johnny Ramroop, laboratory technician, McEwen Lab.

Aakanksha Singhvi, postdoctoral fellow, Shaham Lab.

Wanwan Tang, visiting student, Ott Lab.

Sohail Tavazoie, assistant professor and head of laboratory, Tavazoie Lab.

Morten Veno, foreign research intern, Greengard Lab.

Nilay Yapici, postdoctoral associate, Vosshall Lab.

This publication lists new hires, awards and promotions. Staff promotions are listed yearly; academic promotions and appointments are listed monthly.